Happy 2014

Today marks the first day of the new year….a new year for you and me.  As I sit and watch the new years rose parade I think about all the resolutions made at midnight.  Well, over the last few years they would be resolutions made in my dreams.  I just can’t seem to stay awake for that darn ball to drop and it isn’t the same without Dick Clark.  This year was a bit different.  No kiss at midnight and no resolutions.  I sat with my family and missed the ball drop by 1 minute.  Instead we were watching the Liam Neesom movie “Into the Grey”  This really isn’t a movie for New Year’s Eve per sea…but it has me thinking about myself and what would I do if I survived a plane crash???  Could I dig deep and survive?  Could I find that inner strength that core primal instinct to survive…??  HELL YES! After this year, hell yes. The movie has me thinking about life.  How precious every day is and isn’t promised to us.  So often we hold back because there is always tomorrow. But is there?  No.  So look, don’t wait, don’t hold back.  Give your flowers NOW, wear that “special” pair of earrings today, dress up for no reason, call because haven’t spoken in so long —-don’t wait.  Because of this I have no resolution this year.  They are always the same anyway…loose weight, eat healthy, blah blah blah.   Not this year.  I start out well and then it all falls apart.  How fun is that.  I am going to work on healthier eating and losing weight etc because I should not because it’s the first of the year… but instead I would like to do something that might be a little more fun.

We all make resolutions that are typically to give up something or make unrealistic goals that end up crumbling and make us unhappy a few months later only to make it all better with tons of chocolates and justification of why we failed come Valentine’s day.  How about something different this year?  Instead of giving up lets give out.  I would like to challenge all of you reading this and myself to the following:

LOVE, Understanding, trust, patience, tolerance, forgiveness, more random acts of kindness, appreciation, hugs, smile more.

I know when I do something nice for someone else it usually makes me feel good.  When I feel good I am so much better at anything going on in life, my life.  It doesn’t have to be every day, but just make a more conscious effort on a more regular basis.

Peace and Love to you all this 2014 :o)

 

One thought on “Happy 2014

  1. Romerica Mitchell says:

    Yes you are so right about how we do. Most of the time it’s rush rush rush. Never slowing down to take advantage of life. We should never assume that tomorrow is promised to us. Make the most of everything that happens in your life. Do right by others and it shall be returned. Respect others and you will be respected. Like you say random acts of kindness.
    KATHRYN I KNOW YOU WILL SURVIVE THAT’S WHAT YOU DO . Love and Peace be with you always MY KAT…

Leave a Reply

