Are you a human being or a human doing?

http://www.onbeing.org/blog/the-disease-of-being-busy/7023

Haal-e shommaa chettoreh? Persian for “How is your heart?

When I read this article (click link above) it really hit home to me. It is so true that we are sooooo busy. I thought technology was supposed to make things easier to get them done faster so that we could spend more time with our families and loved ones. Doing things that were fun, relaxing, soothing, balancing ….that was the idea, right? Instead we have made more time to DO MORE that isn’t any of those things. We pack on more more more in a day. More work more stress more hours in a day of BS. I certainly know I am guilty of this. And now, in retrospect, I look back and think…”why didn’t I stop and do more with my family and not my work, nor my busyness nor my BS..?”

Friends and I talk about how when we grew up we played outside, you got dirty, you fought fist fights, not guns, we made up games, talked. When we had arguments we worked it out and at the end of the day you were friends again. Now kids are to busy texting and playing video games …they don’t know how to have real conversations they don’t know how to socially interact with one another to solve problems and come up with creative ideas. It’s sad. They are quick to write each other off and go back to their social media and games because there is always the latest and greatest to replace the former. Most are lazy and just want to sit on the couch and play video games or watch Netflix, and have this self entitlement attitude like it is ok and how dare we challange them. OR like this article we have ourselves and children so jam packed with activities we never see each other. We forget to build FAMILY time, down time, fun time into the schedules.

The following from this article really touched me:

“I am not asking how many items are on your to-do list, nor asking how many items are in your inbox. I want to know how your heart is doing, at this very moment. Tell me. Tell me your heart is joyous, tell me your heart is aching, tell me your heart is sad, tell me your heart craves a human touch. Examine your own heart, explore your soul, and then tell me something about your heart and your soul. Tell me you remember you are still a human being, not just a human doing. Tell me you’re more than just a machine, checking off items form your to-do list. Have that conversation, that glance, that touch. Be a healing conversation, one filled with grace and presence.”

I have been so busy trying to be who I thought others wanted me to be, so busy trying to do what needed to be done, so busy taking care of those around me instead of myself. SO busy trying to make a living for my children working my ass off to give them all the things that make them to busy (video games, iphones, etc.) to even have time for us.

Now it is time to figure out how my heart is. Have the courage to reflect, re-examine, heal, move foraward. Be present in my life so I can be present in others.

So I ask you…Haal-e shomaa chetoreh? How is your heart?

2 thoughts on “Are you a human being or a human doing?

  1. kk says:

    Good points!! My heart is good, but missing you …
    Love!
    kk

Leave a Reply

