Chicken stuffed poblano peppers

image

image

Chicken Stuffed Poblano Peppers. These are easier to make than you think. And SUPER yummy!!

4 Large Poblano Peppers, cored, deseeded
1 small onion, chopped
2 med tomatoes, chopped (I use 2 roma tomatoes)
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1/2 cup cilantro, chopped
2 cups cooked chicken, chopped (I cheat and use 2 small cans of chicken)
1/2 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp oregano
2 tbsps. olive oil divided
1 cup mozzarella cheese
1/2 cup cheddar cheese (I use Kraft triple cheddar cheese)
salt

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line a baking sheet with foil and use 1 tbsp. of olive oil to coat it. I think you could also use cooking spray to lightly coat the foil too…??

Rinse and cut the tops off of the Poblano peppers. Cut along seam on the one side and gently pull out seeds. Set aside.

image

In large saucepan heat 1 tbsp. olive oil. Cook tomatoes, onion, and garlic until no more moisture…approx. 5 min on med-high. Stir often.

image

Add chicken, cilantro, cumin, oregano, and salt, and mozzarella cheese. *you really don’t need to add salt if you are using canned chicken. I find Canned chicken is just easier and more time efficient. stir.

image

Line the peppers up on the prepared baking sheet. Stuff the peppers with the mixture. I use a large spoon and stuff them starting at the bottom by pushing a heaping spoonful to the bottom of each. I then go back and fill each pepper until I run out of mixture.

image

Put the peppers on the baking sheet in the preheated oven and cook for 20 min. Once cooked take them out. Change oven to BROIL. Sprinkle cheddar cheese over each pepper and then place back in the over on the top rack and broil for about 1 min or until the cheese melts and chars a touch. Be careful because this happens fast. I like burnt cheese so…do how you like.

image

WHA-LA!! YUMMM-A-LICIOUS!! these are so good. A little high in sodium but that is why I say don’t add salt. The cheese and canned chicken (buy low sodium if possible – and make sure to RECYCLE your cans) give it enough flavor.

I serve with rice. I found this new brand my local store is selling. Minute rice Multi grain medley. It is FANTASTIC!! I add a tsp of chicken boullion to the water. YUM!

image

I hope you enjoy. It was a big hit with my kids. I think next time I will try with the rice instead of Chicken making it vegetarian. ?? I think it will work.

One thought on “Chicken stuffed poblano peppers

  1. Romerica Mitchell says:

    Once again I must commend you on your ability to entice the taste buds. Your cooking skills are not an exaggeration. .
    Goodness comes from goodness. Thank you and please continue the above average deeds. . GOD BLESS YOU AND KEEP YOU! !!!!!!! LOVE. ♡♡

Leave a Reply

