Wait, what was I doing??????

So, I am sitting here and I can’t remember what I was about to do. I know it wasn’t frightfully important, but something none the less.

There are times more frequent than others that I begin to do something and then just like that……it’s gone and I can’t remember what it was…

it can be something big or little, no matter…all the same it is gone from my mind. It isn’t that it isn’t important, meaningful, or not what I want/need to do….it’s just gone from my mind. I can’t remember. It is frustrating to try to remember because I know it was there and I know it was important to me but I cannot remember what it was to save my life. I struggle to remember and cannot.

Sometimes it scares me that I can’t remember…
It can be a location/destination, a name, a date, a memory, an errand, the lights, did I shut off the stove, close the garage, go to an appointment and where is it???

It wasn’t always like this. I used to be sharp with my memory and multi-tasking was second nature. No worries. I could remember the most un-useful information there was to not know…now the littlest things are a treasure to remember and hold onto. The hardest thing is knowing that I used to know and was much sharper and had a memory like an elephant.

I was informed by my Oncologist and a friend of mine who is a BC Survivor that “chemo brain” happens. No not me though…it won’t happen to me. Well, I finally give in and yes, it has and is happening to me. Good days, bad days. I know the more stress I am under the worse it is.

I ask that for those of you who know those of us…please, be patient with us….eventually we remember, sometimes we don’t. It’s not like we don’t want to or intend not to…we just honestly don’t.

and I still don’t remember what it was I was trying to remember before I wrote this. UGH!!!!

One thought on “Wait, what was I doing??????

  1. Romerica Mitchell says:

    Long time no hear from. But I understand what you are talking about, and believe me you are not alone. …p.s. we’ve missed you. ..

Leave a Reply

